James Madison University

James Madison University (also known as JMU, Madison, or James Madison) is a public coeducational research university located in Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States. Founded in 1908 as the State Normal and Industrial School for Women at Harrisonburg, the institution was renamed Madison College in 1938 in honor of President James Madison and then James Madison University in 1977.

At the Roanoke Higher Education Center, JMU offers credit and non-credit programs, both face-to-face and online.

Resources Available to Students Enrolled via RHEC

Learn more about student support resources available to JMU students.